Hospital experiences

When I entered I was stripped of all metal all shoelaces and strings pencils, pens, anything sharp they thought I could use to cut myself. It looked like prison. I said my goodbyes to my mom sister and father, I choked back tears.  I was mad at my mom for sending me away to a new town and a mental institution. They took me to a tiny room and gave me a body exam I had to strip down to my underwear while they marked on paper all my self harm scars. It felt gross. Like I was some kind of experiment.  They took my blood then I was off to my room.  Where my roommate was sitting peacefully reading a book, not what I was expecting. The next day I met everyone I sat alone for breakfast but everyone was so friendly to me. I had too much anxiety to eat. We all sat in a circle they asked each of us individually to describe our. Mood and a goal we plan to accomplish that day. Then we were sent to take meds. They prescribed me with prozac..  the meds didn’t help.. but that’s a different story. Most of our day consisted of art therapy. We would talk to our doctor once a day we saw a therapist once a week. Which is ironic because the average stay was 3 to 7days.  The social worker would actually play therapist asking us how we felt for around 30 minutes every couple of days. A few times there were fights on the unit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment